The structure of the IO is illustrated in the above organogramme. The IO Director is the administrative head of the Institute, supported by the Secretariat & Administrative Unit, and advised by the Scientific Council. The Institute comprises five Scientific Departments: Ocean Physics, Biological Oceanography, Marine Chemistry, Marine Geology & Geophysics and Marine Observatories and Operational Oceanography.

A new cross-departmental Unit, named Marine Oceanographic Data and Information Systems, has derived from joining the Hellenic National Oceanographic Data Center-HNODC and the Geographical Information Systems Unit. The new unit interacts with all Departments and Research Infrastructures.

The IO comprises also large Research Infrastructures: Marine Analytical Laboratories, Poseidon observing and forecasting system, HIMIOFoTS, and Mesocosms.

Dr Aristomenis P. Karageorgis

Scientific Council

Dr Christos Tsabaris

Dr Helen Kaberi
Dr Panayiotis Panayiotidis
Dr Stella Psarra
Dr Manolis Tsapakis
Dr Christina Zeri
Dr Soultana Zervoudaki
Mrs Paraskevi Drakopoulou